What To Know About Whatsapp View Once Media Feature
For added privacy, WhatsApp users can now send videos and photos that disappear from your WhatsApp chat immediately after the recipient must have opened them once.
- The Media will not be saved to the recipient’s Gallery or Photos.
- Once you send a view once photo or video, you will not be able to view it again.
- There is no way you can forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with view once media feature enabled.
- You may only see if a recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.
- If you do not open the photo or video after 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat and you may not view them again.
- You must select view once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video.
- View once media can be restored from your backup if the message is unopened at the time of the back up. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and as such can’t be restored.
- Only send your photos or videos with view once media enabled to trusted individuals. Lets take for example, it’s possible for someone to:
•Take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears. You won’t be notified if someone takes such action.
•Take a photo or video of the media with a camera or other similar device before it disappears.
- Encrypted media may only be stored for a few weeks on WhatsApp’s servers after you’ve sent them.
- If a recipient chooses to report a view once media, the media must be provided to WhatsApp for proper review.
You can definitely find out more about reporting messages on WhatsApp in the article below. (https://faq.whatsapp.com/general/security-and-privacy/staying-safe-on-whatsapp)
How To Send And Open Whatsapp View Once Media
You can now send a photo or video that will disappear on WhatsApp after the recipient must have opened it and exited the media viewer. Immediately they exit the media viewer, it will no longer be visible in that chat and they will not be able to view it again. View once photos and videos won’t be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery, and they cannot be forwarded.
Steps To Send a View Once Media On Whatsapp
- Open any individual or group chat.
- Click Attach, then tap:
- Camera to snap a new photo or record a video with your camera.Recording Videos using WhatsApp is limited to 16MB per record.
- Gallery to select an existing photo or video from your phone storage.
- Tap the Circled 1.
- Tap the Send Button>.
You’ll see an Opened receipt in the chat once the recipient must have viewed the photo or video.
Note: To send media, you must grant WhatsApp permission to access your Photos and Camera in Settings > Privacy.
Steps To Open a View Once Media On Whatsapp
- Tap the message with a Circled 1.
- View the received photo or video.
- Swipe or tap Back < to exit the media viewer.
You’ll see an Open receipt in the chat for a media you’ve already viewed. Once you exit the media viewer, you will not be able to view the media again or report the media to WhatsApp, and it won’t be saved to your camera roll and gallery.